Places of Interest
Strategically situated on the famous Straits of Malacca, about 147km south of Kuala Lumpur, Malacca (Melaka) is a place with a proud past. However, not much is known about the state until the 15th Century as there were no proper records prior to this period. According to the annals of history, it was founded by an exiled Hindu prince, Parameswara, from Palembang in Sumatra in 1402. Melaka then grew slowly but steadily to become a major trading center and port-of-call for ships from the four corners of the world. Among them were Indian-Muslim traders from India whose wealth attracted Parameswara. Not too long after, he too embraced Islam and came to be known as Megat Iskandar Shah. Hence began the Melaka Sultanate.
Despite the recent appearances of modern buildings and hotels on the periphery of the old town, Melaka still remains a historical goldmine. All cultural and architectural relics of the respective colonial eras can still be seen today.
Auyin Hill Resort is a theme park. Auyin Hill Resort is constructed based on the philosophy of geomancy or “Feng Shui”. Auyin Hill Resort/Feng Shui is the first and only its kind in Malaysia.
Auyin Hill Resort is a fascinating garden based on Chinese legends and mythologies with spectacular pavilions and gateways. Auyin Hill Resort provides a few Chinese replicas and a park. Many locals and foreign visitors are attracted to visit Auyin Hill Resort since Auyin Hill Resort is launch.
RM 3 (Children)
Mini Malaysia & Mini Asean Park is a theme park. Mini Malaysia & Mini Asean Park exhibits and displays traditional houses from each Malaysian state including Sabah and Sarawak.
These houses are located near to one another and/ from only form “Mini Malaysia”. The Mini Asean Theme Park is located adjacent to Mini Malaysia. The Mini Asean Theme park consists / has the feature of traditional houses from the surrounding/ all over the ASEAN countries such as Brunei, Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore and Philippines.
In addition, these houses are built to extraordinary detail. Visitors will be amazed with these houses’ exactness and details that represent the heritage and culture of each country. Visitors can also find many selections of handicrafts from each country and wax mannequins in these houses.
RM 2 (Children)
Malacca Zoo is situated 13km away from the historical city. Malacca Zoo the second largest zoo in Malaysia. Malacca Zoo consists of an area of 54 hectare and homes various species of wild animals.
Malacca Zoo is constructed based upon the natural habitats of the animals. Malacca Zoo provides several facilities to its visitors. Among all the facilities include elephant rides. Visitors can enjoy and at the same time seeing primates at close range in this fascinating Malacca Zoo.
RM 4 (Children)
Portuguese Square is situated within the Portuguese Settlement, about 3km away from the city. The buildings in the Portuguese Square are developed in the late 1980s. Thus, these buildings are unique in design resembling Portuguese architecture and attractive.
Visitors can also taste the delicious cuisines and at the same time having a great experience on the Portuguese culture while visiting the Portuguese Square. Portuguese Square has many cultural activities being organized.
Among all the cultural activities include Portuguese dance performances and Malay, Chinese and Indian dances. These performances represent a multiracial society and are usually held on Sunday evenings. The square is the culmination of Portuguese and local cultures in their full splendor and colors.
The Light and Sound Show is situated at Bandar Hilir, Padang Pahlawan in Malacca. The Light and Sound Show is the first project in South East Asia. The Light and Sound Show takes one on a journey to the past from the Melaka Sultanate to Malaysia gaining Independence. The Light and Sound Show is a show that not to be missed by visitors who are keen to understand more of Malacca’s history and culture. The Light and Sound Show starts at 8.30 pm.
Air Keroh Recreational Forest is situated at about 11km away from the city. Air Keroh Recreational Forest is filled with many floras and faunas. Air Keroh Recreational Forest has an aborigine village and a forest museum.
Visitors will be fascinated with the huge variety of primitive and rare plants. Visitors can also experience a tropical rainforest environment in Air Keroh Recreational Forest. Air Keroh Recreational Forest offers several facilities such as jungle trails, picnic spots, campsites and barbecue pits.
Ostrich Park is a newly developed, countryside tourist attraction. Ostrich Park homes many interesting flowering plants and fruit trees. Ostrich Park also rears many flocks of ostriches.
Visitors can enjoy seeing the ostriches roaming in the Ostrich Park and at the same time touching and smelling the local fruits found in the orchards. Visitors can also buy dried ostrich meat, ostrich skin products and other ostrich health products.
In addition, the owner of the Ostrich Park will frequently arrange for experts to explain the habitats of the ostriches to the visitors. Usually, this talk is conducted after the visitors have visited the Ostrich Park and at the end of the tour and talk, the owner will serve sumptuous meal of fruits to the guests.
Crocodile Farm homes over 200 crocodiles of various species. Crocodile Farm consists of an area of 3.2 hectares. Crocodile Farm is one of the largest crocodile farms in the country.
Around the Crocodile Farm, many of these reptiles can be seen basking in the sun in ponds. The entire of the Crocodile Farm is set in a lush tropical forest filled with wading pools and ponds that create a natural habitat for the crocodiles.
The Bird Park is a new tourist spot in Ayer Keroh. The Bird Park consists of an area of 45 hectares. The Bird Park homes over 100 species of birds with a population of more than 3000 of the feather-winged creatures.
The Bird Park opens daily from 9.00am to 6.00pm. The Bird Park provides its visitors with many selections of programmes. Visitors will be amused by various antics of the birds from the way they feed to the “acrobatic stunts” that some unknowingly make as they flap, hop and fly about in their cages.
The Malacca’s Butterfly Farm is one of the most wide-ranging butterfly and insect farms in the world. The Butterfly Farm homes over 200 local species of butterflies. Among all the local species of butterflies include Birdwing and the Rajah Brooke. The Butterfly Farm also proudly boasts of more than 400 insect specimens. Visitors can enjoy watching these colorful insects in the Butterfly Farm.
After 5 years of research, planning and development the result is D - Paradise Tropical Fruit World and Aboriginal Native Village. D - Paradise is the world’s largest collections of tropical, landscaped garden full of fun, adventure and discovery.
D - Paradise can assault visitor’s senses by seeing the fruit, smelling, picking and tasting the wonderful varieties on offer. One of the many “must see” attractions is the unique, authentic “live” Aboriginal Village.
A’ Famosa Resort Hotel is a hotel that provides accommodation with a lot of funs. Besides providing the accommodation, A’ Famosa Resort Hotel has two main attractions, which are A’ Famosa Animal World Safari and A’ Famosa Water Park.
A’ Famosa Animal World Safari situated at Alor Gajah, Simpang Empat, covers an area of 150 acres. A’ Famosa Animal World Safari is Malaysia’s only animal world safari that is of this magnitude. A wide variety of animals and birds can be found in A’ Famosa Animal World Safari. Tracks that were specially laid in the park enable visitors to get close to the animals and feed them.
However, one can only feed the animals with specially prepared food that can be purchased in the park. A “must visit” for the family; the safari park also boasts of exciting rides where visitors can be safe in steel protective enclosures to view the animals at close range.
A Famosa Water Park offers a variety of games and water sport activities such as water skiing, wave surfing, boating and canoeing. A Famosa Water Park boasts of three different types of slides, a man made beach, a wave pool, a waterfall and a rainbow fountain. A monorail takes one round the 20 acre park. A Famosa Water Park also houses an indoor entertainment centre and a haunted house.
Among the many sites and places that one can find in Malacca, A’ Famosa stands out as the major historical landmark. A’ Famosa was built by the Portuguese in the 16th century as a protection against the Dutch naval force.
A’ Famosa is a site that should not be missed by visitors to Malacca. The gate that one sees today survived the countless years of damage brought to A’ Famosa by wars and natural erosion a change process that is witnessed by solitude cannon that still stands in front of the gate today.
Christ Church was constructed in 1753. Christ Church is an old church that bears testimony to Dutch architectural ingenuity. The striking red exterior of Christ Church gives life to this landmark building and adds to the many colors of the city. Christ Church is located at the end of the Dutch city square and was built to replace St Paul’s Church as the place of worship.
At the chancel, the exquisite “Last Supper” in glazed tiles mesmerizes visitors of the church. The British later transformed Christ Church to the holy place that caters to their needs and manners of praying. A clock tower and a wind vane were later added to Christ Church. However, the Dutch flooring of the Christ Church remained unchanged.
Stadthuys was built in 1650. The Stadthuys is another Dutch construction that one can find in the city of Malacca. Stadthuys was originally built as the official residence for the Dutch Governors and their officers.
With wooden doors that are beautiful and sturdy, stonewalls that are elegant strong, steel door bolts that are delicate yet robust, visitors will be amazed by the carpentry and bricklaying skills of the Dutch.
However, today only one room remains. The ceiling of this room is decorated with 17th century incredibly beautiful woodcarvings that depict flowers. The Stadthuys is today the Historical Museum of Malacca.
On display are Portuguese and Dutch memorabilia, in addition to the many exquisite Malay and Chinese traditional costumes. A visit to this museum is like walking down the historical path of Malacca.
Closed on Friday - 12.45pm to 2.45pm
St. John’s Fort was rebuilt by the Dutch in the 18th century. St. John’s Fort is located at St. John’s Hill about 3 km from the city of Malacca. At one time, St. John’s Fort was a private Portuguese chapel dedicated to St. John the Baptist.
Visitors may be a little puzzled to find that the openings for the guns on its walls face inland and not toward the seas as most embrasures would. This indicates that the attacks on Malacca at that time came from the land and not the sea.
St. Francis Xavier’s Church is a lily-white church that is located along Jalan Gereja. St. Francis Xavier’s Church lends enchantment to the view of the lively city of Malacca.
A French priest named Reverend Farve constructed St. Francis Xavier’s Church in 1849. This Portuguese church was dedicated to St. Francis Xavier who was renowned for his missionary work in spreading Christianity to the Far East in the 16th century. For his contributions and achievements, St Francis Xavier was called the “Apostle of the East”.
St. Paul’s Church was built in 1521 by a Portuguese general called Duartecoelho. St. Paul’s Church is one of the oldest Catholic churches in Malaysia. St. Paul’s Church was named St. Paul’s Church after the Dutch conquered Malacca. When construction of the Christ Church was completed, this building was then changed into a mausoleum.
The descendants of the Portuguese who conquered Malacca built this Roman Catholic Church in 1710. St. Peter Church is located at Jalan Bendahara. St. Peter Church is home to a life size alabaster statue of “The Dead Lord Before The Resurrection” making it the only church in the country that has one. Christians throng by the thousands to St. Peter Church on Good Friday and Easter every year.
Poh San Teng is situated next to the Sam Po Well at the foot of Bukit Cina. Poh San Teng was built in respect and dedication of Admiral Cheng Ho. Folklore has it that during one of his trips from China to Malacca, Admiral Cheng Ho’s ship almost sank due to a leak. A fish, which is known as “Tuah Pek Kong” stuck itself to the hole and thus saved the ship from sinking.
Sri Poyyatha Vinayagar Moorthi Temple is located at the junction of Jalan Hang Kasturi and Jalan Tukang Emas. Sri Poyyatha Vinayagar Moorthi Temple is a beautiful manifestation of Indian culture and religion.
Sri Poyyatha Vinayagar Moorthi Temple is one of the first Hindu temples to be built in the country around 1781. Sri Poyyatha Vinayagar Moorthi Temple was raised on a plot of land given to the Hindus by the Dutch.
Cheng Hoon Teng’s Temple is Malaysia’s oldest Chinese temple. Cheng Hoon Teng’s Temple was built in 1646. Cheng Hoon Teng’s Temple covers an area of 4600m square. The roof edge of Cheng Hoon Teng’s Temple has mythological figures and animals made of ceramic shards, skillfully “cut” by artisan.
The Goddess of Mercy, Guan Yin, is the main image in Cheng Hoon Teng’s Temple followed by the goddess Tian Hou, guardian of seafarers, who occupies the left section of the temple. There are three doctrinal systems in this temple that are the Buddhism, Taoism and Confucianism.
Princess Hang Li Po was sent by the Emperor of China in 1459 to marry the reigning sultan of Malacca, Sultan Mansur Shah to strengthen the relationship between the two countries.
The sultan gave the princess and her entourage of 500 ladies-in-waiting Bukit China (Chinese Hill) for their residence. Legend has it that the Princess Hang Li Po used a well constructed by her followers when she resided in Malacca.
Today, locals and tourists alike have made it a wishing well. Many believed that those who throw coins into the will soon return to Malacca. About 25 hectares of Bukit China is now Chinese burial ground. There are about 12000 graves here with many of them dating back to the Ming Dynasty. Bukit China has the distinction of being the largest Chinese cemetery outside China. Bukit China is indeed truly a “historical hill”.
It has been said that the spirit of Hang Tuah, hero and famed warrior of the Malacca Sultanate, lives on in a white crocodile. It is only with unwavering faith that one only can be granted the opportunity to see the crocodile appear at the mouth of the well, located in Kampung Duyong. Some believe that the water in the well has medicinal values and brings fortune to those who drink it.
Kampung Kling’s Mosque is one of the oldest mosques in Malaysia. Kampung Kling Mosque has Sumatran and Javanese architecture influences. Kampung Kling’s Mosque has features of three tiered roof rising like a pyramid and a beautifully carved wooden ceiling.
Kampung Kling’s Mosque is unique in that it has an odd minaret that is structured like a pagoda, reflecting a blend of Eastern and Western architecture. During the month of Safar of the Muslim calendar, worshippers congregate to Kampung Kling’s Mosque to conduct the “Safar Bath” ritual.
Tranquerah Mosque is a unique mosque that bears testimony to the fact that Islam made its way to Malacca some 600 years ago. The tomb of Sultan Hussain of Johor lies within its compound. Sultan Hussain signed the cession of Singapore with Sir Stamford Raffles in 1819.
Kampung Hulu Mosque is located in China Town. Kampung Hulu Mosque was built in 1728 by a Dato’ Shamsuddin. Kampung Hulu Mosque is the oldest mosque in the country and has a unique architectural design that was not seen in any other mosque.
Kampung Chitty is located in Kampung Tujoh. Kampung Chitty is home to the Chitty, which is the “Strait born Indians”. There are “Straits Chinese” or Nyonyas and the “Straits Indians”.
Chitty is the name given to the Indian traders who came to Malacca from Panai Koromandel. Through intermarriages with the locals, an amalgamation of culture and language emerged. Hinduism is the faith of the Chitty and the annual Mariamman or “Pesta Datuk Charchar” is their major festival. This festival is usually celebrated for a week in May. The Chitty eat typical Indian food and practice the traditional Indian Wedding ceremony.
In this village are descendants of the Portuguese who came to Malacca in the 16th century. Many of them are involved in fishing and its related industry. Although Portuguese still remains as the main language, it has evolved and changed. The language has been influenced by, and blended with, the local languages.
Picket fences and tin roof are characteristics of the houses in this village. The exteriors of the houses are usually painted light blue or light green. Every year during Christmas and “Intrudo” the village is filled with gaiety and festivity. The Intrudo is a water festival that is held on the Sunday before “Ash” Wednesday, before the month of Lent. During his festival, residents and visitors are splashed with water.
About 49km from the city of Malacca, toward the north, locates a Dutch Fort, which was built in 1757. Dutch Fort is located at Kuala Linggi, where the Dutch Fort stands on raised ground, which is also known as Bukit Supai (Sepoy’s Hill).
Proclamation of independence Memorial was constructed in 1912. The Proclamation of Independence Memorial Hall was formerly known as the Malacca Club.
Proclamation of independence Memorial houses, among others, pictures, photographs, historical documents, treaties, minutes of meetings and films that bear testimony to the struggle and effort put in by Malaysians in gaining independence for the country.
As a mark of honor and respect to the man who played a key role in helping Malaysia gained her independence, a portrait of Tunku Abdul Rahman, Malaysia’s first Prime Minister, is proudly displayed in the Hall.
The Dutch Graveyard was first used in the last quarter of the 17th century. This site served as a burial ground during 1670 to 1682 and again during 1818 to 1838. Five of the graves here are of Dutch origin while the other thirty three are British.
Today, this cemetery is a memorial for the British soldiers who perished in the Naning War, which was in 1831 to 1832. The Dutch Graveyard is located along Jalan Chan Kun Cheng. The memorial reminds visitors of the war waged by Dol Said, the ninth ruler of Naning against the British.
In the Taboh Graveyard locates the grave of Dol Said, who was the ninth ruler of the district of Naning. Today, the Grave of Dol Said was known today as Alor Gajah.
Dol Said boldly went against the British decision to impose tax on the residents of Naning. Courageously, he resisted the British forces and in a surprising display of military ingenuity, Dol Said and his men outsmarted their enemy. The Naning war, waged in 1834, made Dol Said a hero and earned him a place in the pages of the history books of Malacca.
Malacca Sultanate Palace was built according to the 15th century. Malacca Sultanate Palace has Malay architecture that made popular during the reign of Sultan Mansur Shah. Now, Malacca Sultanate Palace houses the Malacca Cultural Museum.
The original palace had earlier been damaged and was not occupied nor used. The wooden replica of the Palace that visitors see today serves as a reminder of the golden years of the Malacca Sultanate a time when Malacca established good relationship with China and a time when sultans ruled Malacca. It was during that time when sultans and their armies used the foot of St Paul’s Hill as their base and command post.
This strategic location provided a good view of the Straits of Malacca and of the ships passing by. This glamorous palace, situated on the mid slope of the hill, once stood majestically as it welcomed foreign dignitaries.
However, in 1511 when the Portuguese attacked Malacca, the palace was destroyed. Taking its place as the main and important building in Malacca then was the fort A’Famosa. The gate of the fort, which stood beside the palace, marked the power of the foreign intruder the Portuguese. The gate then went on to witness the 500 year history of Malacca’s colonial era.
Hang Tuah was a famous warrior in the heydays of the Malacca Sultanate, and a bodyguard and protector of Sultan Mansur Syah. Upon his death, he was buried in this Hang Tuah’s Mausoleum in Tanjung Kling which is located 15km from town.
Tun Teja was brought to Malacca by Hang Tuah to marry Sultan Mahmud Shah during the celebrated days of the Malacca Sultanate. While retreating from the Portuguese attack in 1511, she died in Merlimau about 24km from the Malacca City. Therefore, Tun Teja’s Mausoleum was built here in her honor.
Hang Kasturi was one the good friends of Hang Tuah during the glorious days of the Malacca sultanate. He was part of the “champions of justice” team and he served as a bodyguard to the sultan. Today his grave can be seen at Jalan Hang Jebat, formerly known as the Jonker Street.
Hang Jebat, together with his four friends, were renowned for their skills in the Malay martial arts. The five famous warriors once saved the Prime Minister of Malacca from harm and were rewarded by the Sultan. They became the imperial bodyguards and “champions of justice” of the Malacca Sultanate. Later, Hang Jebat betrayed the sultan and was subsequently killed by Hang Tuah. Hang Jebat’s grave is located at Jalan Kampung Kuli.
The Chinese, who migrated here during the height of the Malacca Sultanate and married the locals, adapted much of the Malay culture into theirs. After a few generations, their culture blended with the locals’ and evolved into the Baba and Nyonya heritage.
Thus, these descendants are also known as the Straits Born or Straits Chinese. The Baba and Nyonya Heritage is located at Jalan Tan Cheng Lock. The Baba and Nyonya Heritage is the first private cultural museum. The museum boasts of exhibits that include unique Baba and Nyonya handicrafts, furniture, dining ware, ceremonial ornaments and garments.
RM 4 (Children)
Maritime Museum is constructed after the Portuguese ship, “Flora De La Mar”. According to historical records, the Portuguese ship sank off the coast Malacca on its way to Portugal on January 26, 1512.
Maritime Museum is located at Jalan Quoyside. The exhibits in the Maritime Museum tell of Malacca’s maritime history that spans over 7 generations. The exhibits are grouped into the following categories: the era of the famed Malacca Sultanate in the 14th and 15th centuries, the Portuguese era in 1511 to 1641, the Dutch era in 1641 to 1795, the British colonial era in 1795 to 1957 and from Independence in 1957 until today.
The People’s Museum is relatively a “young” museum, in terms of the artifacts it houses, features the history of Malacca after the Independence of Malaysia. The museum highlights the contributions of the people of Malacca toward the development of the state, in particular, and the country in general, in areas such as economics, politics, social, education, tourism and industrialization.
Tourists will have a better understanding of how Malacca came to be as it is today. The outstanding achievements of the state from 1982 to 1992 are commemorated in the exhibition, “A Decade of Malacca”
RM 1 (Children)
Closed on Monday and Tuesday
Villa Sentosa is located in Kampung Morten, the only Malay Village in the heart of Malacca City. Villa Sentosa was built in the first quarter of the 20th century in accordance to the design and architecture of that era.
The owner, which is named as Tun Haji Hashimi, had a grand idea of turning his home into a private museum. Today visitors take pleasure in the impressive collection of Malay artifacts, traditional costumes, embroidery, furniture and firearms that are put on display in Villa Sentosa.
The Malaysia Youth Museum is located in the Stadthuys building, along Jalan Laksamana. The building, once a Dutch administration office, was converted into a school in 1931 and later to a General Post Office.
Presently, the building houses The Malaysian Youth Museum. Malaysia Youth Museum is also the documentation centre where information regarding national and international youth activities are kept and archived.
Among the many exhibits here include pictures of youth leaders, trophies, uniforms and products created by young entrepreneurs and the profiles of their companies.
The Aborigines Museum is located along Jalan Ayer Keroh, which is next to the Crocodile Farm. This museum houses various exhibits and collections of the local Aborigines.
The facts and legends of Jasin, from its humble beginning to the developed town that it is today, can be traced from the exhibits in this museum. One exhibit, which will be of particular interest to history and romance-lovers, is an account of Sultan Mahmud Shah’s infatuation for Puteri Gunung Ledang.
The Naning War was fought in the Alor Gajah district. The exhibits in Alor Gajah Museum take visitors on a time machine to the past reliving the amazing stories of the war and the development of the district of Alor Gajah. The Malay, Chinese and Indian cultures are also put on display in Alor Gajah Museum.
RM 0.50 (Children)
Closed on Monday and Tuesday